

WILLOUGHBY Local Planning

Plann Panel

## PLANNING PROPOSAL RECORD OF ADVICE

DATE OF ADVICE	29 November 2022
PANEL MEMBERS	Abigail Goldberg (Chair), Trevor Bly, James Harrison, and Linda Tully.
DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST	None

Closed meeting held at Willoughby City Council on 29 November 2022.

## PLANNING PROPOSAL

The proposal **PP-2022/3** seeks an amendment to the *WLEP 2012* to include site specific special provisions for the subject land, 10 Gordon Avenue & 15-19 Nelson Street, Chatswood NSW 2067, that allow for a rezoning to Land use Change to B4 Mixed Use, Increase building height to 90 meters, increase FSR TO 6:1.

## PANEL DISCUSSION

The Panel considered a number of issues including:

- compliance with the strategic framework,
- connection to a wider pedestrian and cycle network as this is developed,
- vehicular accessibility of the site, considering its proximity to the Pacific Highway and the potential for shared driveway access,
- design excellence outcomes,
- podium design,
- right of way vs dedication and the potential for coordination of maintenance, design and future redesign, and public use, and
- importance of application of the Apartment Design Guidelines (ADG) in relation to internal and external amenity considerations.

## PANEL ADVICE

The Panel advises it is satisfied that the planning proposal is worthy of being forwarded to the DP&E for a Gateway consideration having demonstrated strategic and site specific merit.

The Panel recommends:

- a) This advice is provided to Council as part of its consideration of this planning proposal.
- b) Forwarding the planning proposal to the DP&E for a Gateway consideration following consideration by Council.
- c) Supporting a shared driveway access solution with 9-11 Nelson Street.
- d) Integration of the designs of the podia for the subject site and 9-11 Nelson Street.
- e) Council review the approach requiring rights of way as opposed to dedication and the implications this may have on the future maintenance and redesign of the public spaces.

PANEL MEMBERS	
Mary	Tung
ABIGAIL GOLDBERG (CHAIR)	TREVOR BLY
Janes Ritting	Linde Tully
JAMES HARRISON	LINDA TULLY